Bishop Search

Gracious God,

We, your people in the Diocese of Newark, give you thanks and praise for your work among us and through us, generation to generation. Lead us in the months ahead as we prayerfully search for our next Bishop. Raise up for us a steadfast steward who will embrace our broad and blessed diversity and uphold the apostolic heritage of your Church. Guide us to a faithful witness who speaks the Gospel truth in love and joy, and intimately knows your Word and world. Direct us, your disciples, in our discernment so our faith may increase and our works glorify your Name.

All this we ask through Jesus Christ our Lord, who with you and the Holy Spirit, be honor and glory throughout all ages. Amen.

 

Below are some links to the search for the 11th Bishop of Newark.

The Election of our new Bishop will take place May 19th.

Home Page:  https://dioceseofnewark.org/bishop-search

The Candidates:  https://dioceseofnewark.org/content/standing-committee-announces-candidates-xi-bishop-opens-petition-process

The Timeline:  https://dioceseofnewark.org/bishop-search/bishop-search-timeline-2017-2018

Bishop Walkabouts:

The candidates for the XI Bishop of Newark have been invited to participate in a "Walkabout" tour of our diocese. Walkabouts are intended to provide both candidates and diocesan members with opportunities to meet and get to know each other, and to allow the candidates to address concerns and questions from both laity and clergy.

A total of five Walkabouts are planned for May 4, 5 & 6, 2018 (see schedule below). To facilitate interaction with all, one is for clergy only, one is for lay only, and three are open to both lay and clergy.

The locations for the Walkabouts were selected based on their geographical location, meeting facilities, accessibility, and proximity to public transit and parking.

Friday, May 4 at Church of the Savior, Denville
9 AM - 12:30 PM for Clergy only
1:30 - 5 PM for both Lay & Clergy

Saturday, May 5 at Calvary Church, Summit
9 AM - 12:30 PM for Lay only
1:30 - 5 PM for both Lay & Clergy

Sunday, May 6 at St. Paul's Church, Englewood
1:30 - 5 PM for both Lay & Clergy

Bishop Walk Aboutshttps://dioceseofnewark.org/content/transition-committee-announces-schedule-locations-walkabouts

Upcoming Events

Friday, May 25:
Saturday, May 26:
Sunday, May 27:
Sunday, May 27:
Sunday, May 27:
Saturday, June 2:
Sunday, June 3:
Sunday, June 3:
Please join us at the 10:30am service as we give thanks and honor our dedicated Sunday School Teachers! Read more
Sunday, June 3:
Tuesday, June 5:
Friday, June 8:
Saturday, June 9:
Sunday, June 10:
Sunday, June 10:
Sunday, June 10:
Come join us to celebrate the beginning of summer and the end of the school and beginning of Summer! Sunday June 10th will be the last week of two services for the summer. Following the 10:30am service, we will break out the BBQ, kick back and have some food and fun!. Read more
Friday, June 15:
Saturday, June 16:
Sunday, June 17:
Friday, June 22:
Saturday, June 23:
Sunday, June 24:
Friday, June 29:
Saturday, June 30:
Sunday, July 1:
Sunday, July 8:
Sunday, July 15:
Sunday, July 22:
Sunday, July 29:
Sunday, August 5:
Sunday, August 12:
Sunday, August 19: